I wrote my Ph.D. thesis in VR. And it was awesome!

Purnendu
Jan 30, 2024

--

I recently finished the draft of my Ph.D. dissertation. I wrote the majority portions of my thesis in mixed reality. Using a Meta Quest 3 mixed reality headset in pass-through mode with a physical Bluetooth keyboard, I could transform any cafe into my work desk. I am going to expand on this experience here.

In summary, I loved it. It was not cumbersome at all. The passthrough mode in Quest 3 is colored but grainy and not super high resolution. However, to me, this lack of resolution acted as a perfect filter for the unnecessary “visual noise”. But it also allowed me not to be fully immersive and still access the real world in pass-through mode whenever I wanted.

[More to be expanded here soon]

--

--

Purnendu

Designer trained as Physicist | Currently @ Reality Labs Research at Meta | PhD student @cuatlas | Previously: IIT Roorkee, Co-founder @log9materials